Foodie Review: The Caribbean Queen of Patties

The Caribbean Queen of Patties

The Caribbean Queen of Patties courtesy of http://ashleyallinson.wordpress.com

The Caribbean Queen of Patties

1279 Bloor St W

Toronto, ON M6H 1N7

(416) 538-1732

So I’m on the hunt for the best beef patties in Toronto.  After being referred to friends to check out Allan’s, Albert’s and Randy’s and doing a few MapQuest searches I decided to go with my ladies and check out The Caribbean Queen of Patties on Bloor Street at Lansdowne Station.  Mainly because I’m lazy and I don’t want to go to the east end of Toronto during my work week.  I like to try and stay as local as possible. 

Located in Bloordale Village – you can’t miss her shop.  The lovingly decorated green, yellow and red Jamaican flag storefront beckons you from the street inviting patrons in with colourful signage selling Jerk Chicken, Jerk Pork, Oxtail Fish and Caribbean Sweets.

But I was there just for the beef patties.  Mild in particular.  I bought two (one mild and one spicy) which came out to be around $3.  Gorgeous?  Um – hello.  She is definitely the Queen.

Beef Patties

Beef Patties

The pastry was fluffy, fresh, tasty and oh so light.  I could eat that pastry just itself!  Their spicy beef was delectable.  It was meaty, filling and just the right amount of gravy.  Really I just didn’t want it to end.  For me it was a satisfying filling lil meal.  A perfect in between meal between lunch and dinner.

I grew up in Rexdale being raised on Non & Nisa beef patties.  They were a huge part of my childhood.  Trekking up to the convenience store run by a Korean family – they’d pop the beef patty in the microwave and then my sisters and I would run home so we could eat them piping hot on a plate (of course).  In my teen years, we would start eating beef patties in a Kaiser bun.  I learned in my adult years my east end Toronto friends would eat their patties on cocoa bread.  It’s great to live in Toronto!  😉

Back to The Caribbean Queen of Patties – what else does she sell?    Curry goat, oxtail, jerk chicken, stew beef, curry chicken, red snapper, king fish, and roti.  There was a ‘hipster’ buying some curry goat when I placed my order.  He told me he comes in a few times a week.  He also said her patties are the best around.  It’s worth a try if you’re hungry on the way home and fancy a hop off the subway at Lansdowne.  Keep in mind you can get a box of 10 patties for $12 to keep in the fridge or freezer for those late night hankerings.  😉

Yours in fashion and cuisine,

Mel xo

Leave a Reply

