RIMMEL LONDON: The Basics

For the last few years I have been neglecting the basics in my makeup bag and needed a huge overhaul.  In February I went to MAC for a make up consult and forked over close to $300.  I felt so guilty that I returned a bunch of it and only kept some bits.

I did some research and found the following basic essentials from  RIMMEL LONDON that were not only good on my pocket book but performed very well under the hustle and bustle of a busy day at the office and a night out.

Here are my suggestions to updating your make up kit.

RIMMEL LONDON Fix & Perfect Pro Primer

RIMMEL LONDON Fix & Perfect Pro Primer

RIMMEL LONDON Fix & Perfect Pro Primer

Foundation glides on more smoothly, more evenly and wears longer. Or wear alone for an all-day fresh and even complexion.

Smooth’s to minimize pores.

Resurfaces for an even complexion.

Brightens skin all day.

Mattifies and eliminates shine.

Protects skin from environmental aggressors.

Review:  I have tried other expensive primers and found either my face had a reaction to the ingredients or they dried my skin out.  The RIMMEL LONDON Fix & Perfect Pro Primer went on very smooth, did not provoke my skin into a stress rash, it held my make up all day and did stand up to the claim that it smoothed out my facial blemishes.  My skin felt silky smooth whilst I was waiting for it to set and even after I applied my make up for the day.

RIMMEL LONDON Hide The Blemish Concealer

RIMMEL LONDON Hide The Blemish Concealer

RIMMEL LONDON Hide The Blemish Concealer

Effectively conceals blemishes and dark circles

5 available shades

Review:  As we age ladies, we need a good concealer.  I liked the RIMMEL LONDON Hide The Blemish Concealer.  But it didn’t go on as creamy and flat as I had hoped.  The shades that RIMMEL LONDON has in the line for the Hide The Blemish Concealer didn’t speak to my skin tone.  Which was a disappointment.  That said, I liked the compact ability of the RIMMEL LONDON Hide The Blemish Concealer.  It is great to pop in your purse or for an overnight trip out of town.  It is easy to apply, non-messy  and easy to blend in when I applied it onto my face.

RIMMEL LONDON Match Perfection Concealer

RIMMEL LONDON Match Perfection Concealer

RIMMEL LONDON Match Perfection Concealer

Skin Tone adapting concealer.

Conceal signs of fatigue.

Highlight & Illuminate eye area.

Soft precision brush for the delicate under-eye area.

5 available shades.

Review:  I preferred the RIMMEL LONDON Match Perfection Concealer over the RIMMEL LONDON Hide The Blemish Concealer.  The shades with this product were far closer to my skin tone.  It also provided a velvety finish that I appreciated.  The soft precision brush for the delicate under-eye area was very helpful and really got into the nooks and crannies of my eyes and provided and overall seamless look.

RIMMEL LONDON Stay Matte Pressed Powder

RIMMEL LONDON Stay Matte Pressed Powder

RIMMEL LONDON Stay Matte Pressed Powder

Up to 5 hours natural shine control with natural minerals. Helps minimise the appearance of pores. Dermatologically tested

6 available shades

Review:  As the last step in my makeup regimen I picked up the RIMMEL LONDON Stay Matte Pressed Powder.  It set my primer and concealer in place until I applied my foundation, blush, eye shadow, mascara and lipstick.  It is a very light weight and a non-fragrant pressed powder.  I keep this is in my work cosmetic bag for touch up’s throughout the day as needed.  The only quibble I have with the RIMMEL LONDON Stay Matte Pressed Powder is that I wish it came with a buff instead of me having to carry my cosmetic brush around in my purse all day.  That aside – this is a great lil Matte Pressed Powder at an awesome price point.

Check this space next month for a piece on updating your overall polished look.

http://us.rimmellondon.com/

Leave a Reply

