CityPASS New York: The Museum of Modern Art

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I went to the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) in New York on a Sunday morning before meeting up with Alix.

Looking at Modern Art for me is so much more fun than looking at traditional works.  I find I can relax and have a chuckle along with the artists brush strokes.  Plus I feel like I remember the experience far more clearly than when I see giants at the MET for example.

I enjoyed Roy Lichtenstein, Jackson Pollock, Frida Kahlo, Jasper Johns, Andy Warhol and Monet that afternoon to name a few.  Monet’s ‘Water Lilies’ took up 4 massive panels.  I couldn’t help but look at the piece with my mouth ajar.  It was spectacular.

I liked that MOMA was manageable and not a 5 hour affair.  It was easily doable in 2 hours with a rest or two in between.  Check out the free multimedia tour device.  Drop off a piece of ID at the audio visual desk and plug into device similar to that of an iPod.  Plus you can email yourself the art you viewed on the day after your experience.  A perfect souvenir.

While giggling at Andy Warhol’s ‘Campbell’s Soup Cans’, a couple asked me to take a photo of them in front of the piece.  I gladly took a few.  They were so happy.  It was such a nice reminder that like me people were overjoyed to beam at amazing art on holiday in NYC.

http://www.moma.org/

Leave a Reply

