Music Review: Warpaint – “Warpaint”

I have been having an obsession with WARPAINT of late.  Mmmmm maybe obsession is a rather tame word.  I have been listening to Warpaint most mornings, at work, on way to work and back and at the gym.  It’s been my ‘orange juice’ most days.  Their music has been my up lifter in the last few weeks.

So yes you can say their latest highly anticipated self-titled second album which was released by Rough Trade back in January is definitely my new jam.

If you are unfamiliar with Warpaint they are a Los Angeles based quartet comprised of Emily Kokal (vocals/guitar), Jenny Lee Lindberg (bass/vocals), Theresa Wayman (guitar/vocals), and Stella Mozgawa (drums).

To say that this follow-up is “highly anticipated” is an understatement considering the reception that their debut received when it was released at the end of 2010, and the excitement at their popular sets at Coachella.

Warpaint is a well-oiled machine. They weave intricate guitar lines, hypnotic vocals and driving post punk rhythms into gorgeous, sprawling songs that skirt the line between psychedelia and intimacy. Both live and on record, Warpaint sound like they’re channeling something truly otherworldly, and mystical. They are also a band that truly enjoys playing together. Emily and Theresa have been friends since they were kids, and the bond that the four of them have is truly special.

I have spent many days either dancing in my small kitchen to the likes of ‘Hi’ and ‘Disco//very’ or lying in bed whilst reading to ‘Go In’ and running on the treadmill to ‘Feeling Right’.  There is something soothing and almost hypnotic about their sound.  I can hear the likes of The Pixies, Metallica, 4AD motifs and Mazzy Star all rolled into their intent.

‘Drive’ has undertones of new school Beck meets Radiohead without the pretention.  Think soaring into the clouds or better yet revelling on a sunny Sunday afternoon in a park and breathing in a new week with loads of potential.

This all female foursome (who clearly know how to have fun with one another whilst also being creatively and instrumentally connected) have a wonderful way of injecting syrupy molasses into their sound whilst ‘bringing it’ to the forefront and ensuring a rock steady, dance and rock midriffs into our essence.

A guy caught me singing along to ‘Love Is To Die’ on the subway one night after work last week.  I only thought after – was he smiling at my horrible singing voice or the lyrics I was belting out?  It was a long and harrowing day.  I think I found my spring anthem when I need a bit of a cheer up.

‘Your eyes stare

Am I humble as I go

I’m holding in tight

To something long as I go

Am I humble as I go

I found a way

To look towards this day

But it all hooked up

This could only go one way

I’m not alive; I’m not alive without you

I’m not alive; I’m not alive without you

LOVE IS TO DIE, love is to not die, love is to dance

Love is to dance’

Once you let Warpaint in; I challenge you to shake them off.

http://warpaintwarpaint.com/

Leave a Reply

