Book Report: ‘Reckless Years A Diary of Love and Madness’ By Heather Chaplin

th

In this page-turning memoir, a woman tries to reinvent her life after divorce and discovers that sometimes finding yourself is not all it’s cracked up to be.
Trapped in a dissatisfying marriage for nearly a decade, New York journalist Heather Chaplin finally summons the courage to leave. On her own, she finds herself intoxicatingly free, pursuing adventure, and juggling romance on two continents in multiple cities. She contemplates the meaning of life; she falls for a handsome Irishman.
But as the adventures progress, Chaplin’s own reckless choices send her spiraling downward—and toward a reckoning she’s avoided all her life. Pulled from Chaplin’s own diaries, Reckless Years is a raw, propulsive debut: unfailingly profound and impossible to put down.

Review:
I went through a horrible break up in my thirties and thought I would never come out of it. It was degrading, painful and gripping. Not something you want to go through the summer of your thirtieth birthday and most importantly alone back in your home town away from a country that you were calling home for years.
I found a respite in my thoughts through travel from all of my suffering. It was isolating at times but the quiet was good for me. I needed time to get to know myself again and also find my voice. All of that was silenced and I perpetually found myself spinning in an ether that was nonsensical. Although I didn’t write in a diary I journalled out my thoughts in a blog. Therapeutic and at times even more irritating.
‘Reckless Years A Diary of Love and Madness’ By Heather Chaplin paints a wonderful portrait into that life that I experienced and perhaps all women coming out of one long chapter can relate to. Written in a journal style, the book is laden with sharp humour; sexy moments and relatable emotional grief that are stitched into a narrative that will make you swoon and guffaw. If you are coming out of a relationship, starting a new job, trying something new and it fails miserably or are just wanting to check in with yourself again – ‘Reckless Years A Diary of Love and Madness’ By Heather Chaplin makes for an interesting summer read.
I loved the lovely faraway off places Chaplin takes the reader into and demonstrates what it means to truly heal after heartache, experience shenanigans that need to happen to shake off the heart ache and to learn to like ourselves again with the best of intent and compassion.
http://www.simonandschuster.ca

Leave a Reply

