Zabar’s

Have you ever heard of Zabar’s? It is a gourmet emporium specializing in smoked fish, caviar, coffee, cheese, kitchen goods & housewares. It is a well-known neighborhood landmark at Broadway and West 80th Street in New York City and is featured in many films such as “You’ve Got Mail” and Woody Allen’s “Manhattan”.

Whenever I am in New York City, I always pop into Zabar’s on my first day to pick up a nova salmon on a bagel or a corned beef sandwich, with some latkes and black and white cookies (which are the size of my palm). I love walking around the aisles and seeing what’s new. The coffee and baked goods aisles are my favourites. However, the deli and smoked fish counter are stuff of dreams. Even just standing in the store reminds me that it is time to celebrate the start of my vacation.

If you are in a rush and rather pick up a quick meal, iced coffee, and baked goods for your day – check out the Zabar’s café next door. If you time it right, it is less busy then the gourmet emporium.

On this trip, I grabbed a corned beef sandwich on my way to MOMA. I ate it outside at an outdoor park and people watched before walking around the MOMA space. I locked that moment in as a core memory when I need an escape from my work in the months to come.

https://www.zabars.com/

Leave a comment